The House of Yugoslav-Norwegian Friendship was realized according to the project of architect Aleksandar Đokić and was opened to the public at the end of September 1987. The idea of its construction came from the Yugoslav-Norwegian Friendship Society, which was made up of survivors of the concentration camps and Norwegians, a people who helped escaped prisoners from Nazi camps to escape. Namely, in 1942, about 4,000 Yugoslavs were interned in 13 Nazi camps in Norway, of which 3,840 were Serbs, and about 40 of them were inmates from Gornji Milanovac and its surroundings. Less than half of the internees, 1660 of them to be exact, managed to avoid death, mostly due to the help of the local population who delivered them food, medicine and other necessities, and with their help some managed to escape. As a symbol of the friendship between the two nations established in the Second World War, a unique memorial building was built according to the idea of the architect Aleksandar Đokić – a combination of a Viking ship and a traditional Serbian house – a log cabin.
The wood for the construction was brought from Norway in processed elements that were then assembled on site. In the attic of the “Norwegian House”, as it is most often called, there is a museum exhibition with personal items of those who were forced to stay in the Nazi camps in Norway. On the ground floor, there is a conference hall and a catering area, with a hall decorated with a wood-carved mosaic depicting Josip Broz Tito and the Norwegian King Olaf V, which was removed in 2007 as undesirable, and returned to its place in 2011 after restoration. . When, in 2008, the Yugoslav-Norwegian Society changed its name to the Serbian-Norwegian Society, the name of this building was also changed to the House of Serbian-Norwegian Friendship.